Home » Storyfarm wins Best in Show; 118 ADDYs awarded at 50th American Advertising Awards in Baltimore

Storyfarm wins Best in Show; 118 ADDYs awarded at 50th American Advertising Awards in Baltimore

by | Mar 3, 2024

The American Advertising Federation of Baltimore (AAFB) marked their 50th Annual American Advertising Awards, “We’re Off to See the ADDY s” amongst a historic crowd of 314 attendees on February 29, at the Baltimore Museum of Industry where they awarded 118 ADDY awards; 29 gold and 89 silver awards.

Storyfarm, a video production agency, was honored with the “Best In Show” award. The accolade recognizes the outstanding achievement for the commercial “You Told Us,” produced for LDI Medical.

Executive Producer John Sherman expressed his gratitude, stating: “Storyfarm has been coming to this event for 15 years, bringing all sorts of work. The fact we leave this year with Best In Show is an incredible honor.”

A highlight of the evening was the awarding of $8,000 total in scholarships to Maryland college students, the largest to date. The American Advertising Awards is the industry’s largest and most representative competition, celebrating the creative spirit of excellence in the art of advertising.

“The creative, strategic talent throughout Greater Baltimore has never been more evident,” said Kathe Flynn, AAFB Board president and creative director at idfive. “This year, we not only awarded the most ADDYS in our chapter’s history, but there’s a spirit of support, mentorship, hope and promise in rising professionals, the future of our industry, which is why we were so honored to award not one but two unrestricted $4,000 scholarships to two incredibly talented students who are movers and shakers in the community.”

Another highlight of the event was the Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Michele Selby, president of Media Works, Ltd. Selby became the first woman bestowed with this high honor since its inception in 2009. The award celebrates inspirational leaders who set the standard for achievement in advertising. Jody Berg, founder and CEO of Media Works, delivered a captivating introduction for Selby, recounting the pivotal phone call made in 2006 when she approached Selby about joining forces as a partner at Media Works. Selby joined a few months later. Media Works continues to thrive under their leadership across multiple offices nationwide.

2024 Scholarship awardees:
William Fortune, University of Maryland Baltimore County for the Carolyn E. Fugett Elevating Black Creative Scholarship
Raven Roberts, Morgan State University for the Wendy & Matt McDermott Social Impact Scholarship

Top honors included:
● LDI Medical by Storyfarm as 2024 Best in Show

At the ceremony, the AAFB also announced the recipients of its prestigious individual achievement awards:
Liz Norton, vice president and executive producer at AVOQ for the Crystal Prism Award
Susan Levickas, sales representative at Graphtec for the Katherine Mahool Iconoclast Award
Ron Ordansa, executive vice president, creative director at Crosby Marketing Communications

Gold Awards
● 186 Advertising, “Prepare for the Fair”
● Alexander & Tom, “Shenandoah National Park Lewis Mountain”
● Atlas Restaurant Group, “Order of the Ace Logo”
● Bully Entertainment, “Speed Zone ‘Digital Dash’”
● Early Light Media, “A Short Film…About Us”
● Early Light Media, “Pati’s Mexican Table – Season 12”
● Early Light Media, “Rowing to the Motherland”
● Early Light Media, “One Shock Trauma – Lady Brion”
● GKV, “San Giorgio Website Redesign”
● Humble & Wallop, “Spokesperson for Your Brain”
● ICF Next, “BGE’s The Efficient Home Magazine”
● idfive, “NMAA Website Redesign”
● idfive, “‘Mason Now’ Advancement Campaign”
● Lisa Sirbaugh Creative, “Mews on Maxwell Brandmark”
● Lisa Sirbaugh Creative, “Mews on Maxwell Branding”
● Mission, “NACAC Blue Jay”
● Planit, “The Family Tree: ALL-TO-GATHER”
● Planit, “TORO Haven Microsite”
● Storyfarm, “LDI Body Bags Campaign”
● Storyfarm, “YouTold Us”
● Sympatico Media, LLC, “TuneCore Splits”
● Tribe, “OBH Bust Head Pale Ale”
● Tribe, “Big CorkBig Finish Port Series”
● Viscul, Inc., “FreshDirect: IceMar”
● Viscul, Inc., “Giant Food: Old Bust Head”
● Viscul, Inc., “FreshDirect: Hickory Nut Gap”
● Viscul, Inc. “Giant Food Vendor Story: Dress It Up”
● Viscul, Inc. “FreshDirect: Foods in Season”
● Viscul, Inc., “FreshDirect: Adirondack Creamery”

The American Advertising Awards competition attracts more than 35,000 entries every year in local competitions. Gold winners at the local level move on to the district competition, competing with agencies from Maryland, Pennsylvania, New York, Delaware, Virginia and Washington, D.C. A win at the district level earns a spot in the National American Advertising Awards Competition. National winners will be announced at the AAF’s conference, ADMERICA, May 30 – June 2, 2024, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Image: ICF Next team, by Peter Watts, The Five Arrows Media

Jeffrey Davis is regional editor for Capitol Communicator and head of Baltimore PR firm J. Davis Public Relations, LLC. He is the regional PR representative of the national Public Relations Consultants Group (PRCG).

About the Author

Jeffrey Davis

Jeffrey A. Davis, APR has more than 25 years of news media and national public relations experience and heads J. Davis Public Relations, LLC, a PR and social media consultancy. A three-time PRSA Maryland president, he serves as Maryland regional editor for the Capitol Communicator and is co-founder of Podville Media in D.C. where he co-hosted the "Practically Social" podcast. Jeff is the regional representative of the national Public Relations Consultants Group (PRCG). He began his career as a reporter at daily newspapers in Ohio, New Jersey and at the Capital Gazette in Annapolis.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Brand Creep

Don't tell the lawyers



Recent Comments