Home » Dan Dunne to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at PRSA Maryland ‘Best in Maryland’ Awards Gala

Dan Dunne to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at PRSA Maryland ‘Best in Maryland’ Awards Gala

by | Nov 13, 2017

The Maryland chapter of the Public Relations Society of America announced the names of individuals and organizations that will be recognized during the annual Best in Maryland Awards Gala set for Wednesday, December 6, at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel in Baltimore.

Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award will be Dan Dunne, an active PRSA Maryland member and director of external communications with Erickson Living. Throughout his 28-year federal law enforcement career with the Bureau of Prisons, two years as an independent public relations consultant, and an 11-year career with Erickson Living, Dunne’s career history includes extensive management and leadership experience as well as expertise in brand communication, social media applications, crisis communications, and public and media relations training.

Other individual and team awards will include:

  • Nancy Sherman, director of marketing and communications at Caroline Center, is the inaugural recipient of the Paul E. Welsh Award and will be honored for her work in public relations and communications, which she describes as having “deep Baltimore roots.” Sherman is a long-time member of PRSA and currently serves as chair of the chapter’s Communications Committee.
  • Dana Vickers Shelley is lecturer and faculty advisor, PRSSA, in the Department of Strategic Communication at Morgan State University. She will be recognized at the Best in Maryland Awards gala for her commitment to the professional practice of public relations; the positive and inspirational effect she has on each student she encounters; and, for establishing the first PRSSA Chapter at Morgan State University.
  • Molly Dressel of Abel Communications is PRSA Maryland’s 2017 Rising Star. Dressel will be honored for her impressive early accomplishments, her ardent spirit for volunteering, and for the promise she continues to show as a new public relations professional.
  • The Maryland Auto Insurance marketing and communications team is PRSA Maryland’s 2017 PR Team of the Year. The team led by Cathy Nyce, director of marketing & communications, will be recognized for successfully leading the 40-year-old organization through a complete corporate re-brand.
  • PRSA Maryland will recognize Coyle Studios, headed by Mary Lou and John Coyle, as this year’s Partner of Distinction for their ongoing support of PRSA Maryland and for the many ways they are helping shape the face of the public relations industry throughout Baltimore.

Visit the chapter website for more information about the PRSA Best in Maryland awards gala, including a list of award nominees and ticket information.

Compiled by Capitol Communicator Baltimore editor Jeffrey Davis, managing partner, Maryland marketing firm Van Eperen

About the Author

Jeffrey Davis

Jeffrey A. Davis, APR has more than 25 years of news media and national public relations experience and heads J. Davis Public Relations, LLC, a PR and social media consultancy. A three-time PRSA Maryland president, he serves as Maryland regional editor for the Capitol Communicator and is co-founder of Podville Media in D.C. where he co-hosted the "Practically Social" podcast. Jeff is the regional representative of the national Public Relations Consultants Group (PRCG). He began his career as a reporter at daily newspapers in Ohio, New Jersey and at the Capital Gazette in Annapolis.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Brand Creep

Don't tell the lawyers



Recent Comments