DC Ad Club, metropolitan Washington’s chapter of the American Advertising Federation (AAF), has changed its name to AAF DC. With the change, the club is joining other chapters of the AAF to reflect its affiliation with the parent association.

AAF, the nation’s oldest national advertising trade association, and the only association representing all facets of the communications industry, has 15 district divisions, each located in and representing a different region of the nation. There are more than 40,000 communication professionals who are members of the AAF.

Scott Williams of the Newseum has been elected president of AAF DC for 2016. Jodie Warren of MDB Communications was elected vice president, and Joshua Belhumeur of BRINK was elected secretary. Greg Kihlström of Carousel30 is immediate past president. All officers serve a one-year term.

Williams has been a member of the board since 2014 and served as vice president last year. Prior to his election as president, he served as chair of the programs committee, launching Forward Focus, a monthly program series focused on future trends in the communication industry, and was a member of the ADWKDC 2015 steering committee. Williams is the senior vice president of sales and marketing and CEO of the Newseum. He recently published a book, “The Forgotten Adventures of Richard Halliburton,” with History Press and is also on the board of The Historical Society of Washington, D.C.

“Today, we’re experiencing great change as the way consumers receive and share information continues to evolve more quickly than any time in history,” said Williams. “For those of us who are passionate about innovation and the way these new technologies can be utilized most effectively in communication, advertising, public relations and media, this organization is even more important today than when our club was founded back in 1918. The change of our name to AAF DC and other new programs and initiatives we will be launching in 2016 will ensure members have the tools to remain on the cutting of edge of all areas of communication.”

The DC Ad Club also elected the following new board members to two-year terms: Andy Blenkle, Semper Fi Fund; Alexandra Gonzalez, NBC4; Evan Levent; World Wildlife Fund; Debbie Kaplan; Leadership Greater Washington; Geoff Livingston, Tenacity5 Media; Louise Salas, Wunderman DC; and Hal Schild, PCI Communications. The following were elected to one-year terms: Andy Anderson, Enroll America, and Sherri Anne Green. Staci Vega, christopher consultants, ltd, and Brian Wohlert, Centro, were appointed to one-year terms.

Members returning to the Board are Danny Allen, Sensis; Erin Flior, LEVICK; Judy Markoe, Big Picture Marketing Consulting; and Anuj Vedak, CHIEF.

“The Washington, DC chapter of the AAF has long been one of our association’s largest and most active clubs,” said James Edmund Datri, president and CEO of AAF. “I congratulate these professionals whose efforts will strengthen the club’s position as the number one resource for those in the business of communication in the nation’s capitol.”

AAF DC officers oversee the day-to-day management of the club and make decisions about AAF DC policy, image, and goals. The board of directors is responsible for the management of AAF DC and serves as liaisons to our chairs of standing committees, including the American Advertising Awards-Washington DC (formerly the DC ADDYs), ADWKDC, membership, events, communications, sponsorship, GoodWorks, and nonprofit media among others.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.