Home » PRSA-NCC Announces 2017 Board: Laura Bynum Named President

PRSA-NCC Announces 2017 Board: Laura Bynum Named President

by | Jan 30, 2017

The Public Relations Society of America’s National Capital Chapter (PRSA-NCC) has announced its 2017 Board of Directors and National Assembly delegates. The PRSA-NCC Board oversees the chapter’s more than 40 professional development programs each year and the annual Thoth Awards designed to advance professionalism and support career growth. The National Assembly delegates represent the chapter at the annual PRSA National Assembly.

“Working on behalf of the Washington, D.C., area public relations industry professionals who comprise the National Capital Chapter, it is a great honor to serve as NCC President in 2017,” said Laura Bynum, president, PRSA-NCC, and shown in photo above. “As we work to provide and strengthen members’ knowledge in the field of PR and encourage ethical communication practices, I look forward to working with the Chapter’s Board of Directors and the Leadership Team to advance the chapter strategically to ensure our members receive the PRSA services and benefits for them to excel on the job.”

“Laura Bynum has a proven track record and is well respected by members and leaders in the chapter as well as the PR community in the Washington, D.C., area,” said Sultana F. Ali, APR, PRSA-NCC’s immediate past president. “I look forward to supporting Laura and the board of directors as we engage and connect PR professionals in our nation’s capital with the resources to succeed.”

The Chapter’s 2017 leadership team includes:


  • Laura Bynum, M.A., National Communications/Media Relations Manager, American Public Works Association


  • Sabrina Kidwai, APR, CAE, Senior Public Relations Manager, ASAE

Vice Presidents

  • Robert Udowitz, Principal, RFP Associates
  • Lauren Lawson-Zilai, Senior Director, Public Relations, Goodwill Industries International
  • Danny Selnick, Senior Vice President, Strategic Markets, Business Wire


  • Susan Apgood, President & CEO, News Generation


  • Katelynn Wiggins, Assistant Director Staff Initiatives, American Psychological Association

Immediate Past President:

  • Sultana F. Ali, APR, Communications Officer, The Pew Charitable Trusts

Two-Year Directors:

  • Jennifer Byrd, National Communications Director, The Salvation Army
  • Antonice Jackson, Principal Publicist & MGMT at Audacious Publicity and Management Group
  • Lisa Matthews, Vice President, Hager Sharp
  • Myra Oppel, APR, Director, Media and Analyst Relations, Accenture Federal Services
  • Jennifer Schleman, APR, Senior  Director, Marketing, Communications and Public Relations, National Health Council

One-Year Directors:

  • Stacy Hope, Communications Director, Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe
  • Kelsey Pospisil O’Planick, Client Engagement & Media Relations Manager, News Generation, Inc.
  • Sergei Samoilenko, PR Faculty, George Mason University

2017 National Assembly Delegates:

  • Jackie Allder, APR, Director, Public Relations and Communications, The Long and Foster Companies
  • Rebecca Andersen, APR, Director of Public Relations, The Optical Society (OSA)
  • Jennifer Bemisderfer, APR, Managing Director, Raffetto Herman Strategic Communications
  • Barbara Burfeind, APR, Fellow PRSA, Director, External Affairs, Department of Defense
  • Aaron Ellis, APR, Public Affairs Director, American Association of Port Authorities
  • Steven Grant, APR, Associate Director of Communications National Education Association
  • Brigitte Johnson, APR, Lecturer at Georgetown University School of Continuing Studies
  • Ann Knabe, PhD, Dean of Students, Associate Professor and Reserve Component Chair, National Defense University
  • Lauren Lawson-Zilai, Senior Director, Public Relations, Goodwill Industries International
  • Mitch Marovitz, PhD, APR, Fellow PRSA, Chair, Public Relations Program and Collegiate Professor, University of Maryland University College
  • Sergei Samoilenko, PR Faculty, George Mason University
  • Tracy Schario, APR, Chief, External Relations, The Optical Society (OSA)
  • Erin Wendel-Ritter, APR, Senior Media Relations Specialist, American Physical Therapy Association
  • Katelynn Wiggins, Assistant Director, Staff Initiatives, American Psychological Association

About the Author

Capitol Communicator

Capitol Communicator is a unique online and offline resource for Mid-Atlantic advertising, marketing, public relations, digital and media communications professionals. The e-magazine, e-newsletters and events bring together communications professionals, fostering community and providing important information; news; trends; education; and opportunities for networking, career enhancement, business exchange and showcasing great work. Get more information by clicking on Capitol Communicator above.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Brand Creep

Total Immersion



Recent Comments