The Public Relations of America’s National Capital Chapter (PRSA NCC), the nation’s largest and most active PRSA chapter, announced its 2021 Board of Directors.

According to a release, Incoming President Lauren Lawson-Zilai, shown above, has a long record of service with PRSA NCC, including as a vice president and assembly delegate. She has chaired the chapter’s Hall of Fame, Thoth Awards Gala, and Pro Bono and Community Support committees. She also served as the PRSA International Conference Gala Chair when the conference was hosted in D.C., founded the chapter’s PRSSA Service Award, and has received the chapter’s Platinum and Diamond Awards for exceptional service.

“I’m honored to be taking the helm of PRSA NCC. The support from PRSA NCC is immeasurable through its network of committed colleagues, innumerable growth opportunities, and enhancement of knowledge and skills,” said Lawson-Zilai. “The year ahead no doubt will be challenging given the pandemic, the economy and social environment but we will rise together to the challenge. I look forward to advancing our inclusive education and professional development opportunities to propel communicators at all levels. With my new team of accomplished and passionate board and committee leaders, we will work to further meaningful DEI efforts, develop exceptional, relevant and creative programming, and strengthen relationships with communications student organizations so that the next generation of professionals can successfully navigate their futures and help reimagine communications in the next decade.”

PRSA NCC 2021 Board of Directors

The PRSA NCC board sets the chapter’s strategic direction, oversees chapter programming, develops the annual budget, cultivates the next generation of communications and public relations professionals, and more.


  • Lauren Lawson-Zilai, Senior Director, Public Relations, Goodwill Industries International


  • Robert Krueger, Executive Communications Manager, Gensler

Vice-President, Two-Year Term

  • Leah McConnell Dergachev, AVP, Communications and Marketing, Medical Device Innovation Consortium (term ending December 2021)
  • Vickie Gogo, APR, Partner, Multicultural Communications, ICF Next (term ending December 2022)

Vice-President, One-Year Term

  • Pattie Yu, Principal, theYucrew llc


  • Michelle (Mischa) Sindyukov, Consultant, Campaigns and Advocacy, APCO Worldwide


  • Meredith Williams, MPH, Senior Principal, Atlas Research

Immediate Past President

  • Lisa Kiefer, President and CEO, Sightline Strategy

Two-Year Directors

  • Karen Addis, APR, President and CEO, Addis Communications (term ending December 2021)
  • Diti Bhasin, Director of Digital Strategies & Equity Programs, Flexability (term ending December 2022)
  • Matt Howland, Chief of Communications, Army Emergency Relief (term ending December 2021)
  • Patty Nicastri, Account Supervisor, Hager Sharp (term ending December 2022)
  • Josh Wilson, Director, Strategic Communications, Children’s National Hospital (term ending December 2022)

One-Year Directors

  • Laura Ambrosio, Communications, Consumer Technology Association
  • Larry Parnell, Associate Professor and Program Director, The George Washington University
  • Carol Wilkerson, Press Director, U.S. Small Business Administration

PRSA NCC supports communication professionals in the Washington, D.C., area by fostering collaboration, enhancing knowledge and skills, and creating connections through robust, innovative and inclusive educational, networking and professional growth opportunities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.