The Public Relations Society of America’s National Capital Chapter (PRSA-NCC) announced that nominations are now open for its National Capital Public Relations Hall of Fame award. Inductees will be honored at PRSA-NCC’s 50th Annual Thoth Awards Gala on Thursday, October 18, at The National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The deadline for nominations is midnight on Friday, July 27.

PRSA-NCC founded the National Capital Public Relations Hall of Fame in 1999 by inducting 50 leaders with significant accomplishments in the public relations field as part of the chapter’s 50th anniversary celebration. The original inductees included a diverse group of communicators from the national capital area, from agency heads, White House and Capitol Hill press secretaries, Pentagon spokespeople, business leaders, government officials, international experts, social activists, labor leaders, professors and educators. Last year, Washington, D.C., agency leads and public relations pioneers Carmen Marsans and John J. Seng, shown above, were inducted.

The criteria and eligibility requirements for the induction into the Hall of Fame include, 30 or more years of distinguished accomplishments, visionary leadership, contributions to the profession through industry member associations, board leadership, mentoring and developing others, and commitment of time and talent to their local public relations community with an intent to inspire the next generation of public relations professionals to excel.

Nominees exemplify the true characteristics of a leader in public relations – someone who had led teams and contributed significantly to the growth of his or her company or organization, and someone who has the perseverance to face any challenge and can strategically link a program to lasting results. Nominees have also received acknowledgment or previous awards for their contributions to the public relations field.

Nominees must have worked in the D.C.-metropolitan area for at least 10 years. Nominees can either be currently employed or retired, and need to be a member of PRSA-NCC.

To view the list of Hall of Fame members, visit:

More here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.