Home » Mitchell Marovitz Named 2015 President of PRSA-NCC

Mitchell Marovitz Named 2015 President of PRSA-NCC

by | Dec 10, 2014


The Public Relations Society of America’s National Capital Chapter (PRSA-NCC) announced its 2015 board of directors and assembly delegates. The board oversees the chapter’s more than 50 annual professional development and awards programs designed to advance professionalism and support career growth. The assembly delegates represent the chapter at the annual PRSA National Assembly.

“There couldn’t be a more exciting time to lead the nation’s largest PRSA chapter,” said Mitchell Marovitz, Ph.D., APR, incoming president of the NCC and adjunct professor at several universities in the Washington, D.C., area (and shown in picture above). “Now in our 65th year, and having hosted a highly successful PRSA International Conference, the chapter is entering 2015 with the highest numbers of chapter membership ever. The bar was set high this year, and the new board plans to build on that momentum by offering members relevant and useful professional development and networking opportunities and by developing a thought leadership capability on issues important to the modern practice of public relations. I am honored to serve with these exceptional professionals as we advance the profession in the nation’s capital.”

“Mitch has served the National Capital Chapter as a dedicated volunteer and leader for several years,” said Rebecca Andersen, APR, outgoing president of the NCC and Director of Public Relations at Coriant. “He is an advocate for our industry and a champion of the value of the APR credential. I look forward to supporting him and the 2015 board of directors as they usher the chapter into another year of success.”

The Chapter’s 2015 leadership team includes:

Mitchell Marovitz, Ph.D., APR, Adjunct Professor, George Mason University, George Washington University, University of Maryland University College and Webster University

Sultana Ali, APR, Public Relations Director, Liquidity Services

Vice Presidents:
Lauren Lawson-Zilai, Director of Public Relations and National Spokesperson, Goodwill Industries International
Jennifer Schleman, APR, Senior Associate Director of Media Relations, American Hospital Association
Susan Apgood, President and CEO, News Generation, Inc.

Robert Udowitz, Principal, RFP Associates, LLC

Lisa Kiefer, President, Mosaic Communications, LLC

Immediate Past President:
Rebecca Andersen, APR, Director of Public Relations, Coriant

Two-Year Directors:
Laura Bynum, Media Relations and Communications Manager, American Public Works Association
Stacy Hope, Communications Director, Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe
Myra Oppel, APR, Regional Communications Vice President, Pepco Holdings Inc.
Ellyn Pollack, APR, Fellow PRSA, Public Affairs Specialist, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Amy Robinson, APR, CAE, Strategic Communications Consultant

One-Year Directors:
Trent Flood, APR, Vice President, Employee Engagement, Edelman
Daniel Selnick, Senior Vice President, Strategic Markets (Public Policy/LatinoWire), Business Wire
Pamela Mooring, APR, Communications Manager, DC Water


First of the two photos of Marovitz by Cade Martin.

About the Author

Capitol Communicator is a unique online and offline resource for Mid-Atlantic advertising, marketing, public relations, digital and media communications professionals. The e-magazine, e-newsletters and events bring together communications professionals, fostering community and providing important information; news; trends; education; and opportunities for networking, career enhancement, business exchange and showcasing great work. Visit www.capitolcommunicator.com to learn more.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Brand Creep

Total Immersion



Recent Comments