The Public Relations Society of America’s National Capital Chapter (PRSA-NCC) is seeking nominations for its National Capital Public Relations Hall of Fame award. Inductees will be honored at PRSA-NCC’s Annual Thoth Awards Gala on September 16 at the National Press Club. Self-nominations are allowed, and the deadline for nominations is July 1. The nomination form is  available at the PRSA-NCC website.

PRSA-NCC started the National Capital Public Relations Hall of Fame in 1999 by inducting 50 leaders with significant accomplishments in the public relations field as part of the chapter’s 50th Anniversary celebration.  The original inductees included a diverse group of communicators from the National Capital area – including agency heads, White House and Capitol Hill press secretaries, Pentagon spokespersons, business leaders, government officials, international experts, social activists, labor leaders, professors and educators. Last year, public relations icons Jody Powell and Sheila Tate, were inducted.

The criteria for induction into the NCC Public Relations Hall of Fame includes:

  • 30 or more years of distinguished accomplishments
  • Can be actively employed or retired
  • A visionary public relations leader and mentor
  • Demonstrated commitment to the profession of public relations
  • Made a positive and significant impact on the industry
  • Contributed significantly to the broader community
  • Has inspired the next generation of public relations professionals to excel
  • Has worked in the DC metro area for at least ten years

Note that the individual need not have been a member of PRSA-NCC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.