MGH won “Best of Show,” while top honors in three categories went to Dean Alexander Productions, idfive and Storyfarm at the 42nd Annual Baltimore American Advertising Awards Show, hosted by the American Advertising Federation of Baltimore.

More than 290 entries were submitted this year, resulting in 85 ADDY awards presented to local agencies, production houses and in-house marketing teams across 50 categories. The sold-out awards show on March 10, chaired by Harvey and held at the Baltimore Museum of Industry, was produced with a Baltimore theme: blue crabs, Natty Boh and Hon ladies were out in force to celebrate excellence among Charm City’s advertising community.

“This is my favorite event of the year. It brings together the brightest marketing professionals in the Baltimore community and honors their talent. With a record number of entrants and winners, this show is one of the biggest yet and we are all very excited to celebrate,” said Ariel Deitz, AAFB president and mobile sales director, AOL.

OLDBAY_Print_BIS_BaltimoreTop honors include:

  • Best In Show presented to MGH for the OLD BAY HOT Launch Campaign (pictured);
  • Special Judges Award / Best Still Photography Campaign presented to Dean Alexander Productions for the Maryland Auto Insurance campaign;
  • Special Judges Award / Best Specialty Advertising presented to idfive, a Capitol Communicator sponsor, for “Cards for Humanity” on behalf of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health;
  • Comcast Spotlight Award / Best in Public Service presented to Storyfarm, a Capitol Communicator sponsor, for “Free Shirts” on behalf of Baltimore Child Abuse Center.

MGH won the most Gold awards (eight), followed by Planit with five Golds and GKV with four. Six groups had three Golds each: ADG Creative; Eleven Peppers Studios; Harvey; idfive; Marriner Marketing; and Storyfarm.

The AAFB also announced the recipients of its awards and annual scholarships:
• The Silver Medal Award was presented to Jody Berg, president of Media Works, in recognition of her contributions and commitment to advertising in the Baltimore area.
• College students Shane Messick, Jennifer Crim, Clifford Patterson and Krystal Carpintieri were announced as the AAFB’s 2015-2016 scholarship recipients.

Photo Credit: John Waire / The Wairehouse

(Stay current with items of interest to communicators at Capitol Communicator,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.