Google tweaked its privacy policies to set data to automatically delete after 18 months for new accounts and will notify its billions of existing users that they can delete their data too, reports AdAge.

AdAge adds that the change “builds on a policy the company made last year to let people turn on a setting that wipes the data Google has on them after three months or a year and a half. Before, users had to sift through settings menus to turn off data collection completely if they wanted to use the services privately. The announcement comes just a week before enforcement under a new California privacy law comes into effect.

“Google built a massive business by analyzing the behavior and personal information of its billions of customers and using the insights to sell highly lucrative targeted ads. But data breaches and growing awareness of the scope of data collection have made consumers wary and governments more aggressive in regulating privacy.”

More here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.